Skip to main content
UCAS Points Calculator

Access to HE Psychology: Can It Get You Onto a Psychology Degree?

By The UCAS Points Calculator editorial teamReviewed by Dr. Lila Sharma, UK Education Policy Specialist Updated 24 September 2026 Checked against the official UCAS Tariff

Yes, an Access to HE Diploma can get you onto a psychology degree. Plenty of universities accept it for BSc Psychology, but most set their own rules: a number of credits at Distinction, sometimes Distinctions in science or psychology units, and GCSE maths. Pick your diploma subject with your target courses in mind, not after.

That last point is the one people miss. The diploma is a genuine route in, and it was built for people like you. You just need to match the diploma subject and your grades to what your chosen universities ask for, and this page shows you how.

What is an Access to HE Psychology course?

There's no single national "Access to Psychology" qualification. What colleges sell under that name is an Access to HE Diploma with a psychology-focused title or a set of psychology units inside a wider pathway, such as social science, humanities or science.

The diploma itself works the same way whatever it's called. According to QAA, every diploma is 60 credits: 45 are at level 3 and graded, and the other 15 are ungraded and may be at level 2 or level 3. Each graded unit gets a Pass, Merit or Distinction, and there's no single overall grade. The Access to HE website describes it as "a full level 3 qualification" designed "for people who have been out of education for some time".

If you want the full background on how the diploma works, read our Access to HE Diploma explained guide. This page sticks to the psychology side.

What do you study on an Access to HE Psychology course?

The units depend on the college and the awarding body, so there's no fixed syllabus to quote. Two diplomas both called "psychology" can have quite different unit lists. That matters, because some universities care about which units you took as well as your grades.

Here's what the university pages we checked tell you about the diploma subject they want:

  • Bristol accepts a diploma in Science, Biomedical/Medical/Health Science or similar. It also accepts one in Humanities, Humanities and Social Sciences, Psychology or Social Science, with a different unit rule for each group (see the table below).
  • Sheffield asks for an Access to HE Diploma in Science.
  • King's College London says the diploma "must be in a relevant subject - Science or similar - to be considered".
  • UWE Bristol says "No specific subjects required" for Access applicants.

So a psychology-titled diploma suits some courses, while others want a science diploma. Before you enrol, ask the college for the full unit list and check it against the course pages of two or three universities you like. The Access to HE website gives the same advice: contact the university "to check that the Access to HE Diploma you have chosen is in an appropriate subject area and is recognised by the university."

What do universities ask for from Access students for psychology?

Every university in this table accepts the Access to HE Diploma for its psychology degree. Each figure comes from the university's own course page, checked in September 2026.

UniversityAccess to HE requirement (45 graded level 3 credits)Subject ruleGCSE mathsEntry year
King's College London, Psychology BSc39 at Distinction, 6 at MeritAt least 15 credits at Distinction in Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics or Psychology; diploma in Science or similarGrade 6/B2027
University of Bath, Psychology BScPass the diploma with at least 39 credits at DistinctionNot stated on the course pageGrade 7/A (plus English grade 6/B)2027
University of Bristol, BSc PsychologyAt least 30 at Distinction and 15 at Merit or above12 credits at Distinction in science units (science diplomas) or in psychology units (humanities, social science or psychology diplomas)Grade 6/B2027
University of Sheffield, Psychology BSc36 at Distinction, 9 at MeritDiploma in ScienceGrade 5/B (plus English Language 4/C)2027
University of Kent, Psychology BSc30 at Distinction, 15 at MeritNot stated on the course pageGrade 4/C2026 (2027 not yet published)

A few things stand out. The most selective courses want almost every graded credit at Distinction. Several want Distinctions in particular subjects, so a strong overall profile can still fall short if your science or psychology units are weaker. And GCSE maths appears every time.

Some universities also run contextual offers. King's College London lists a contextual Access profile of 33 credits at Distinction and 12 at Merit, and Sheffield's Access Sheffield scheme lists 30 at Distinction and 15 at Merit. Our guide to contextual offers explains who can qualify.

Do psychology degrees need GCSE maths and English?

Yes, in almost every case. Research methods are a core part of a psychology degree (Sheffield lists them as one of five core areas), so universities check your maths before you start. The courses we checked ask for:

  • GCSE maths: grade 4/C at Kent and UWE Bristol, 5/B at Sheffield, 6/B at Bristol and King's College London, and 7/A at Bath.
  • GCSE English: UWE Bristol asks for grade C/4 in English (and in double science), Sheffield lists English Language at 4/C, and Bath asks for English Language or Literature at 6/B.

Watch out for one detail. King's College London says "Functional Skills, and Numeracy modules studied within an Access to HE diploma, are not accepted for this programme to meet the GCSE/IGCSE requirement." Other universities may take a similar line. If your GCSE maths grade is below what your courses ask for, sort it out before or alongside the diploma rather than hoping the Access maths unit will cover it.

Is an Access psychology degree route accredited?

The accreditation belongs to the degree, not the Access course. What matters is whether the psychology degree you go on to is accredited. Several of the universities above say so on their own pages. Bath says its course "is accredited by and confers eligibility for Graduate Basis for Chartered Membership of the British Psychological Society". Sheffield explains that accreditation makes you eligible for graduate membership, "the first step to becoming a chartered psychologist". Kent, Bristol and UWE Bristol also state that their courses are BPS-accredited.

If you're aiming for a career as a psychologist, check the accreditation line on every course you shortlist. Getting in through Access doesn't change which degree you are studying.

How many UCAS points is an Access to HE Diploma for psychology?

Your 45 graded credits carry UCAS Tariff points. Distinction credits are worth the most and Pass credits the least. The 15 ungraded credits carry none. Your total depends on your exact mix of grades, so we don't guess it here. Use the Access to HE UCAS points calculator to enter your credits and get your figure, or see every combination in the Access to HE UCAS points table.

Most of the universities in the table above don't use points for Access students at all. They ask for a credit profile instead. Some courses do use points: UWE Bristol, for example, lists a tariff of 120 points for 2027/28 and says no specific Access subjects are required. For a sense of where psychology offers sit across the country, see UCAS points for psychology.

Work out your Access to HE points

Is Access to HE Psychology equivalent to A-levels?

Both are level 3 qualifications and both can get you onto a degree. Universities treat them as parallel routes rather than exact swaps. A course that asks for A*AA at A-level might ask Access students for 39 Distinction credits instead. That's the pattern at King's College London and Bath for 2027 entry.

The upshot is simple. Don't convert your Access grades into A-level grades in your head. Read each university's Access requirement and aim for that.

Can you study Access to HE Psychology online?

Yes. The Access to HE website says courses "are also available to study at home through distance-learning (many of which are online)". QAA adds that you can study part-time over two or more years, or through distance learning or evening sessions. Most full-time courses take about a year.

Online study suits many adults with jobs or children, but check two things before you sign up:

  1. Is it a real Access to HE Diploma? Search for the course on the official Course Search at accesstohe.ac.uk, which lists approved Access to HE Diploma courses. A course that isn't listed there may not be accepted.
  2. Will your universities accept that subject? As the table shows, some psychology degrees want a science diploma. An online "psychology" diploma that suits one university may not suit another.

How much does an Access to HE course cost?

The Access to HE website says that if you're 19 or over "you may be expected to pay full fees". You can apply for an Advanced Learner Loan to cover them. If you complete a QAA-recognised Access to HE course and then complete a degree, "you won't have to repay the remaining loan for the Access to HE course". For the degree itself, our student finance basics guide covers tuition fee and maintenance loans.

What should you do next?

You don't need to have it all worked out today. A few steps now will save you trouble later:

  1. Shortlist three to five psychology degrees and note each one's Access requirement, subject rule and GCSE maths grade.
  2. Choose an Access diploma whose subject and units fit most of your shortlist. If in doubt, email the admissions teams.
  3. Check your GCSE maths and English grades against your shortlist, and plan a resit early if needed.
  4. Once you're on the course, track your credits with the Access to HE points calculator and aim for Distinctions in the units your universities name.

Get the subject and the GCSEs right from the start, and the grades become the part you control.

Frequently asked questions

Sources

Checked against official sources on 25 June 2026. Always confirm exact requirements on the university's own course page.